ALMOND COCONUT BARS

[Inspired by this blog, which you ought to check out.  Rachael’s writing is addictive & she’s rather swell in person, too.]

This post is a little behind.

Normally, I post on Fridays.
But that was not to be this week.  The confluence of
end-of-the-semester business,
start-of-holiday-season events,
and the regular to-do list
did me in.

Of course, I recognize
that the problem
of not posting your blog
on the day to which you (and your readers)
are accustomed
is a first-world problem.

I think all of my problems
(if you can really call them that) fall
into that category.  I am committed
to being cognizant of that
as close to
all-of-the-time
as possible.

It’s easy to lose perspective in this mad-cap world.

My parents’ anniversary was also this week.  Or would have been.  Or something.
Verb tenses get so messed up
when someone dies.

December 8, 1967.
That was a long time ago.
My mom was twenty.
My dad was twenty-five.

They were little.  Younger than I am now
and so good-looking.

Weren’t they just?  If they don’t look
very excited to you,
there’s a good reason for that.

It was only the third time
they had ever met.
I know, right?
Arranged marriage & whatnot.

There’s actually a very fascinating
longer version
of the story
in which my mom
rejected some other dude

(and thank goodness she did, or
somebody we know
would not be sitting here right now)

but I am saving the longer version
of the story
for my book.
So you’ll just have to wait for it.

There are a lot of things
I miss about my dad.

The scariest thing about losing someone
when you least expected it
is that you live in fear
of forgetting
what they looked like
and smelled like
and the sound of their voice
saying your name.

Luckily I have that.
In a forty-second clip
from our trip to India
which we took
a month before he died.

Sometimes I just listen to it
over and over again
and cry.

And then I usually cook something—
(that’s my solution to every problem, really)
something he would like
something he would want to eat
something he would be proud of me making.

These almond-coconut bars were his favorite.
He had a knack
for waking up from his nap
(he used to take the most epic naps)
just as these suckers
were ready to come out of the oven.

He liked to eat things
PIPING
hot.  I don’t know how he did it.

I wish he were here
to sneak some now
and say, “Don’t tell your mother”
while winking conspiratorially.

I keep waiting
for him to show up
even though I know
he won’t.

ALMOND COCONUT BARS

1 ½ cup graham cracker crumbs*
1/3 cup butter, softened
2 T sugar

1 egg
¾ cup light brown sugar
½ cup shredded coconut (recipe calls for sweet, if substituting unsweetened, bump up the sugar)
½ cup chopped almonds
¼ cup flour
1 T. cream or milk
1 tsp. vanilla

pan: 9 inch square
oven: 400˚

Combine the first three ingredients to make the crust—press into the bottom of the pan and bake for 5 minutes.

While the crust is browning, beat the egg until foamy, then beat in the brown sugar.  Stir in the remaining ingredients and spread the mixture over the hot graham cracker layer.

Bake for 20-25 minutes, until the center is firm to the touch.  One caveat: check the bars at the 15 minute mark.  Because ovens vary so much, the tops of your bars may brown before baking time is up.  If that’s the case, simply cover the pan with foil for the remainder of baking.

* Yes, you can buy them pre-made but they vaguely resemble sawdust.  If you have a food processor, it couldn’t be easier to make your own crumbs.  Second easiest: sealable plastic bag, rolling pin, energetic child.

Share/Save/Bookmark

8 responses to “ALMOND COCONUT BARS

  1. OMG, Nishta – these look fabulous and they also contain 2 of my absolute favorite ingredients. I can’t wait to try them… or to read more about your dad in your book. I love how you weave your life stories into your cooking blog. That’s what cooking is for so many of us – connection with special memories. Thanks again for another wonderful blog!

  2. First drooling over latkes, now these. I think I just really want to shred something up and EAT IT this morning.

    Your photo reminded me of http://www.myparentswereawesome.com– such a sweet site and full of awesome.

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention ALMOND COCONUT BARS « Blue Jean Gourmet -- Topsy.com

  4. Reading your poetry reminded me of Shakespeare’s switching between verse and prose for different characters and conversations and how one can love Viola and Falstaff equally. Beautiful.

  5. Aw, what a fantastic picture.

  6. Arranged marriages are not necessarily a bad thing so it seems.

    • bluejeangourmet

      Martha–this is one of my absolute favorite ways to combine almonds & coconut! hope you give it a try, and thank you for the kind words.

      asincerelove–thank you for introducing me to My Parents Were Awesome. how did I not know about this before??

      Mnelle, karinya, Sharon–thank you. gratifying to have reader response for such an emotionally charged post.

      Devon–while they aren’t for me, I certainly can’t object too much, being the product of one. I do think my parents got very lucky, and worked very hard on their marriage.

Leave a Reply

