SUMMER CLASSICS SERIES: COLESLAW

You know those recipes you would beg, borrow, or steal for? Yeah, this is definitely one of them.

coleslaw

Take this coleslaw to a potluck, grill-out, or summer picnic, and I guarantee you’ll have people clambering not only to lick the bowl clean, but also to ask you for the recipe.

I actually didn’t have to beg terribly hard to get this recipe myself—lucky for me, my friend Kathy is a generous recipe-sharer. She’s also responsible for broadening my culinary horizons and know-how when I was just wee college student some half-a-dozen years ago!

This crunchy, spicy slaw goes well with just about any grilled meat or burger. Feel free to adjust the proportions in the dressing to suit your tastes. Coleslaw definitely qualifies as a summer classic, and I’ll eat it in pretty much any incarnation. How do you like yours?

COWBOY KICKOFF COLESLAW
adapted from the Mansion on Turtle Creek, Dallas (via K. Glenney)

This recipe makes a LOT of slaw, so feel free to halve it.

vegetables: yellow bell pepper

4 cups shredded cabbage
(I used both green & half red)

2 cups shredded carrots

2 bell peppers, julienned
(I used one orange & one yellow)

2 chopped jalapeños
(just 1 if you’re heat-shy)

½ bunch cilantro,
picked off the stem & rough-chopped

slaw vegetables dressing:

1 cup mayonnaise

2 T maple syrup

2 T vinegar

2 T Dijon mustard

1 T Worcestershire sauce

1 tsp. chili powder

1 tsp. cumin powder

1 tsp. coriander powder (if you don’t have it/can’t find it, not a dealbreaker)

1 clove garlic, minced

juice of ½ a lime

salt, to taste

Combine all the raw vegetables in a bowl. Whisk the rest of the ingredients together in a separate bowl, then pour over the vegetables. Toss to coat & refrigerate until time to serve. Best if made ahead! Those are four of the sweetest words in the English language: best if made ahead.  Sigh.

Share/Save/Bookmark

8 responses to “SUMMER CLASSICS SERIES: COLESLAW

  1. This sounds like a great coleslaw! I love the bright colors.

  2. What’s with all the cowboy stuff I’m seeing lately. You would think you all lived here in Calgary.

  3. I am embarking on something akin to slow-cooked BBQ (pork shoulder) and some slaw this weekend. Had some great almost kimchee-esque colesaw at the Big Apple BBQ Block Party a few weeks back from The Salt Lick’s pit. Mmmmm. I’m going to try to replicate it. Stay tuned. 🙂

  4. this sounds awesome, can’t wait to try it. . .and you are sooooooo right about the beauty of “make ahead” – to me that means a nice, clean kitchen and more time to relax with a drink

  5. i have to say, i have never been a fan of cole slaw, but you may have made me a convert!

  6. Much better than the standard coleslaw for sure! Thanks for sharing!

  7. Pingback: SUMMER CLASSICS SERIES: SNAP PEA SALAD « Blue Jean Gourmet

Leave a comment